## OFFICERS 2010-2012

GAIL L. PELLERIN PRESIDENT Santa Cruz County CATHY DARLING ALLEN VICE PRESIDENT Shasta County NEAL KELLEY TREASURER Orange County DEAN LOGAN SECRETARY Los Angeles County

# **BOARD OF DIRECTORS**

#### APPOINTED:

**GINA ALCOMENDRAS** Santa Clara County JANICE ATKINSON Sonoma County TESS FITZGERALD Santa Cruz County SACHI HAMAI Los Angeles County JOSEPH HOLLAND Santa Barbara County JIM MC CAULEY Placer County KATHIE MORAN Colusa County SUSAN M. RANOCHAK Mendocino County JULIE RODEWALD San Luis Obispo County DEBORAH SEILER San Diego County DAWN ABRAHAMSON\* Fremont City Clerk \* non-voting member ADVISORY COUNCIL: STEVE WEIR Contra Costa County REBECCA MARTINEZ Madera County ELECTED AREA CHAIRS: JULIE BUSTAMANTE Northern Area Lassen County KARI VERJIL Southern Area Riverside County JILL LAVINE Mother Lode Area Sacramento County AUSTIN G. ERDMAN Central Area San Joaquin County

LINDSEY MC WILLIAMS Bay Area Solano County

#### LEGISLATIVE COMMITTEES CLERK OF THE BOARD:

SACHI A. HAMAI Los Angeles County JOHN MCKIBBEN Los Angeles County

## COUNTY CLERK:

KATHIE MORAN Colusa County VICKI PETERSEN

Sonoma County ELECTIONS:

JILL LAVINE Sacramento County

DEBORAH SEILER San Diego County



# CALIFORNIA ASSOCIATION OF CLERKS AND ELECTION OFFICIALS

GAIL L. PELLERIN, PRESIDENT Santa Cruz County Clerk 701 Ocean St., Room 210, CA 95060 831-454-2419 \* Fax 831-454-2445 \* Cell 408-316-9745 E-Mail: gail.pellerin@co.santa-cruz.ca.us Website: www.caceo58.org

April 2, 2012

Assembly Member Chris Norby, Author P.O. Box 942849 Room 4116 Sacramento, CA 94249-0072

RE: AB 2191 Political Reform Act: Central Committees - SUPPORT

Dear Assembly Member Norby:

The California Association of Clerks and Election Officials Elections Legislative Committee is pleased to convey **Support** for **AB 2191** (as introduced March 14, 2012). This legislation contains technical amendments to the Political Reform Act relating to central committee members.

AB 2191 specifically reduces campaign filing requirement imposed upon members of and candidates to county central committee and prohibits a local government agency from imposing any filing requirements on such candidates and members or on a committee primarily formed to support or oppose a person seeking election to a central committee.

AB 2191 will also provide cost savings for local county government whose election officials act as filing officers for county central committee members.

If you or your staff has any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me at the Monterey County Elections Department at (831) 796-1499.

Very truly yours,

Linda Tulett Correspondence Secretary California Association of Clerks and Election Officials

c: Honorable Paul Fong, Chair, Assembly Committee on Elections and Redistricting Honorable Lou Correa, Chair, Senate Committee on Elections & Const. Amendments Deborah Seiler, Co-Chair, CACEO Elections Legislative Committee Jill Lavine, Co-Chair, CACEO Elections Legislative Committee Barry Brokaw, Sacramento Advocates